The Next One.

I write this from a computer, on a desk, at work. The server is down, providing me with an excellent oportunity to churn out today’s blog entry before heading off this afternoon to meet Prince Wills in Redfern. Laugh all you like.  We share a common year of birth, surely that alone is impetus enough.

My boss has just now informed me that my diet is not very ‘rock and roll’ and that I’m forever eating stinky fish. This amuses me, particularly as they were lentils I was reheating, not fish. Tut. Tut.

I get shy talking about food. I always have.

“What are you eating?”

“What’s that?”

“How did you do that?”

“Oh that’s unusual.” (And so on and so forth.)

Which brings me to this… which I believe is from Cohen’s ‘Selected Poems 1956-1968.’

THE NEXT ONE.

From the original version of My Life in Art:

I lost my tan in Italy and I got fat on pasta and the starch of loneliness. I must fast for forty days. Sabina wrote me from the temple in Germany. She said that the old books say you should fast once each year for the number of days corresponding to your age. She was on the eight day of an intended twenty-eight-day fast. Also I neglected to twist my feet so the heart went crazy. I must phone Patricia who was so good to me. The line is busy.

Comments
One Response to “The Next One.”
  1. Bec says:

    Wow – I adore Cohen – always have.
    This ambitious and I am going to follow you all the way!
    Good luck lady xxoo

Leave a Reply

