I Heard Of A Man.

I first heard this poem quite by mistake late one evening after someone other than myself had clearly added it to my iTunes at a dinner party some moons prior. Immediately I recognised the voice as Leonard Cohens and then spent the remainder of the evening trying rather clumsily to figure out how to play the song on the piano.

I am fasting today, and such cared to write something about hunger or purity. I do this from time to time. My insulin levels are cactus at present and I’d like to pull them back in to line before I grow hungrier, tired-er, moodier and well, more discombobulated than usual. It’s a simple diluted juice and chorophyll fast that will last three days and no doubt have me resiting

From ‘Let Us Compare Mythologies’

I heard of a man
who says words so beautifully
that if he only speaks their name
women give themselves to him.

If I am dumb beside your body
while silence blossoms like tumors on our lips.

it is because I hear a man climb stairs
and clear his throat outside
the door.

– Leonard Cohen.

Leave a Reply

