Someone Once Took A Big Chance On You.

Sammy and I woke before sunrise to drive Nicky to the airport.

We listened to Broken Bells loudly with the windows down to wake ourselves up.

The roads were long and windy, sprinkled with bright lane dividers and the blinking lights of high construction by the harbor.

It was misty and freezing out, and no one said much.

We arrived at the airport with precisely 15 minutes to spare before check-in closed.

We drank shitty coffee and I burnt my tongue.

Sam was keen to get back to the sea for sunrise, so we high-tailed it out of there, away from the pond with the frogs and the bunny rabbits and back down the freeway in search of a good spot for a sunrise.

Needless to say, we found one.

We dangled our legs out and over the world and I spared a thought for England as my sun rose and his set.

We waited for the sun to get a little higher in the sky before committing to a swim.

I walked and walked this coastline and made a phone call, my feet wet by the sea, my mind so full of possibility.

I thought of my weekend, I thought of my year.

I got pummeled by a big, unexpected wave and he laughed as he sat some place cold and dark, a continent away.

There were nerves and frustrations that day,

as he made mention of the L Word.

We drove around for quite some time there after, Sam and I, searching for roast potatoes, to no avail.

Cursed McDonalds drive through, still so early in the day.

There was more coffee and then a train ride back to Sydney

where I counted goats and kangaroos and oysters by the farm load, listening to Bon Iver, and then later myself.

My mind, busy and still, all at once

said wait mate, just keep waiting… You’ll see.

and you kissed me
shy as though I’d
never been your lover..
. – Leonard Cohen.

Leave a Reply

