Does The Venue Matter?

So tickets go on sale tomorrow for Leonard Cohen’s return tour to Australia. I have been inundated with emails from readers expressing their sheer delight for me with regards to this impending tour. But to be honest, I’m actually considering not going.

Shock horror.

I know.

But it’s true.

And the reasons for it being true are varied.

To be fair, I didn’t see Leonard Cohen perform last year as I couldn’t think of anything worse than watching him at the Sydney Entertainment Centre. The thought of seeing him perform at The Acer Arena also leaves me cold:

http://www.acerarena.com.au/default.asp?flash=1&

I know what sort of a night I’ll have, traipsing out to Burwood, sitting next to some obese feck who munches on chips the entire time, a sound guy that may or may not be awake and a teeny tiny little Leonard on a stage off in the faraway distance.

What would hurt me more than all of this would be purchasing tickets and imagining the night would be truly wonderful. Which it won’t be. He will be, sure. Of course, he’ll be wonderful. But I think I’ll be saving my pennies and trying to catch him in some little dirty underground venue somewhere in Montreal within the next year or two where the lights are low and the audience silent…

Comments
One Response to “Does The Venue Matter?”
  1. Bec says:

    Yah – I went last year and he was great – but tiny (and projected on a pixelated screen)…not going this year…Can’t imagine how amazing it would be to see him somewhere intimate. x bec.

Leave a Reply

