Speghetti Sunday.

I am an old scholar, better-looking now than when I was young. That’s what sitting on your ass does to your face.

– Leonard Cohen.

I spent the day today at The Museum of Contemporary Art with my sister.

There’s a charmed little exhibit on at the minute on The Art Of Bonsai.

It’s delicate and cryptic and tortured, and I relished in the opportunity to detail to my sister the specifics of what I’d learned about bonsai during my four year tenure in Japan.

I was so intrigued by the notion of manipulating nature to create some sort of aesthetic paradigm while living in Japan. A little less painful than foot-binding, and oh so detailed. It’s brilliant really. My lover and I would spend many a weekend perusing bonsai gardens, observing how they were stunted, how they were grown. It’s a nice Japanese metophor, I think.

There’s a tour of Cockatoo Island for The Sydney Bienalle I plan to sail over to next weekend. It’s all about bonsai and if you care to notice, I think there is a wee parallel between bonsai and academia. Take your time in responding. What’s the hurry. The speghetti is only half-way done.

x.

Leave a Reply

