Absence Makes…


I wonder if

I don’t talk about it

then maybe

I won’t think about it

quite so much

all the time

all the time.

No easy feat

this trip

for

where the mind goes

the body follows

and I am losing my mind–

I Long To Hold Some Lady.

I long to hold some lady
For my love is far away,
And will not come tomorrow
And was not here today.

There is no flesh so perfect
As on my lady’s bone,
And yet it seems so distant
When I am all alone:

As though she were a masterpiece
In some castled town,
That pilgrims come to visit
And priests to copy down.

Alas, I cannot travel
To a love I have so deep
Or sleep too close beside
A love I want to keep.

But I long to hold some lady,
For flesh is warm and sweet.
Cold skeletons go marching
Each night beside my feet.

– Leonard Cohen.

Leave a Reply

