Big Ears.

I spent the evening

sitting on my sisters steps

talking to a friend I’d not seen in a while,

a deaf friend.

It took some doing,

as conversations of new often do

over loud music and lip reading

for me

to explain to him

that since last we spoke

I had begun upon

a year with Leonard Cohen.

He smiled broadly in the end.

“Oh right. Leonard Cohen. I see. Why?”

We spent the evening discussing his screen play. I wanted him to hear me. And he I. We really did cover some ground–

I’d like to write a lot more about him over the next few days.

He really did make my night.

x.

Leave a Reply

